Packing Struggles. Commiserate with me.

I am the worst packer, ever.

I should be better at it. When I was in 7th grade, my family traveled all over the USA while living in an RV and I had to plan to be away for months at a time. You know those medium sized plastic containers that are about 1/4 the size of the plastic containers used to store Christmas decorations? Well, I got 1 of those to pack clothes in, 1 of those to pack “fun” things aka my library books and Bop-It, and 1 drawer for underwear and socks. It was totally fine. I managed.

When I went to England in high school, I packed for a 10 day trip in just a carry on!

When I studied abroad in college, I lived out of a suitcase on my 3 month 20+ city tour of East Asia. Again, I had clothes that lasted me for 3 months in one regular sized suitcase. It was easy.

According to the above evidence, we can all agree that I have the capabilities of being a good, light packer.

So someone please explain to me why when I went to Katie’s this weekend I packed (for ONE afternoon/night and ONE morning):

– 3 cardigans (black, pink, white)
– 2 pairs of jeans (skinnies and non-skinnies)
– a pair of black leather boots
– a pair of black suede booties
– a pair of black tennis shoes
– 2 different going out tops that require a cardigan (blue and green)
– a black sweater
– a purple scarf
– a pink scarf
– a white tank top
– a white going out lacy top
– a black dress
– black tights
– a black belt
– black yoga pants
– a tshirt
– a lightweight hoodie
– 2 different black camis (one with spaghetti straps and one with thicker straps)
– a black sports bra
– a black regular bra
– a nude regular bra
– one pair undies
– 2 pairs of socks
– 3 types of hoop earrings (gold, silver, dark silver) and 3 pairs of stud earrings
– 3 rings (colored, silver, black)
– 1 long sparkly necklace, 1 short sparkly necklace, 2 regular necklaces (gold and silver) a watch
– a tan coat
– a baseball cap
– a book
– makeup
– a curling iron (my hair was already curled when I left)
– all my toiletry items
– 5 different colors of nail polishes

UM WHAT THE FUCK. I mean, seriously? I just threw random things in my bag thinking I might wear it. I know I’m not alone in this issue, but.. seriously? #overkill

image

Do you see them all? There’s gold, pearly white, pink, purple, red. OH – and 3 different chapsticks that are regularly carried in my purse.

I ended up wearing what I wore on my drive there (except I put on the other pair of jeans and the booties instead of the skinny jeans and boots, because I had to feel like I packed all that for SOME sort of change).

Please leave me a comment letting me know I’m not the only over-packing freak out there.

Leave a comment